Winners of 2017 MTSF Awards and Grants

Two UTAR’s researchers won at the 24th Malaysia Toray Science Foundation (MTSF), held at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur on 7 December 2017. Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) Prof Dr Chong Kok Keong was awarded the 2017 Science and Technology Award along with a cash prize of RM30,000, and Master of Science student Esther Thou Mun Huieh of Department of Biomedical Science, Faculty of Science (DBMS/FSc) who won the Science and Technology Research grant amounting to RM 30,000.

Organised by MSTF, Malaysia’s premier charitable science foundation established by TORAY Japan and TORAY Malaysia, the event aimed to promote science and technology in Malaysia by supporting deserving Malaysian scientists, young researchers and science educators. Prof Chong was among the two winners, selected out of 23 applicants for his category, while Thou was among the seven recipients who received the Toray Science Foundation, Japan grant. Another prize category was the Science Education Award.

Prof Chong (far right) receiving his award and Thou (far right) receiving her grant