International Collaborative Partner (ICP)

Name Prof. Dr. Yong Hoi Sen
Qualification B.Sc. (Botany & Zoology), University of Malaya, 1964.
B.Sc. Hons. (Zoology), University of Malaya, 1965.
Ph.D. (Genetics/Zoology), University of Malaya, 1968.
Organization Academy of Science, Malaysia
UTAR Contact Person Dr. Phoon Lee Quen,

  • Professor Emeritus, UM, 2007 - present.
  • Research Associate, UM, 2000-2007.
  • Senior Research Fellow, UM, 1999.
  • Professor for Chair of Zoology, UM, 1986-1998.
  • Associate Professor, Dept. of Genetics and Cellular Biology, UM, 1974-March 1986.
  • Lecturer, School of Biological Science, UM, 1968-June 1974.
  • Tutor, Dept. of Zoology, UM, 1965-1968.
  • Student Demonstrator, Dept. of Zoology, UM, 1964-1965.
Funded Research Projects
  • All (national and international) already completed.
Teaching Interests
  • Genetics, systematics, biodiversity and evolutionary biology
  • Economic zoology and medical biology
Research Interests
  • Biodiversity
  • Systematics, genetics and ecology of fruit flies and other insect pests
  • Systematics, genetics and evolutionary biology of stingless bees, braconid parasites and other hymenopterans
  • Genetics, immunology and molecular biology of parasites, vectors and hosts
  • Systematics, genetics and evolutionary biology of mammals, amphibians, reptiles and fish
  • Genetic toxicology
  • Animal and human cytogenetics
  • Malaysian natural heritage
Publications & Presentations
  • He has published more than 300 articles and 4 books (the citation databases of ISI listed 109 titles in 1998).
  • Editors of several books (Malayan Nature Journal, Malaysian Journal of Science - over 20 years), magazines (Nature Malaysiana - 20 years), monographs, proceedings and Animals volume in Encyclopedia of Malaysia.
Professional Activities
  • Adjunct Professor, UTAR, 2008 - present.
  • Member, Academic Advisory Board, KBU International College, 2008-present.
  • Member, Board of Directors, College IKIP Pahang Darul Makmur, present (and past several years).
  • Member, Selection Committee, Malaysia Toray Science Foundation Science and Technology Awards and Research Grants, present (and past several years).
  • Committee Member and Judge, ACCCIM Young Innovators Programme, 2007-2008.
  • Editor, Ecological Research, 2006-present.
  • Member, ACCCIM STI Committee, 2006-2008.
  • Chief Editor, Journal of Science and Technology in the Tropics, 2004-present.
  • Member, Panel of Assessors, National Science Award, 2004.
  • International Judge, Intel-ISEF (International Science and Engineering Fair), 2003-2004.
  • Chairman, Panel of Advisors, Inti Journal, 2002.
  • Chairman, Academic Advisory Board, Kolej Bandar Utama. 2000-2008.
  • Honorary Member, Academic Advisory Board, Inti College, Malaysia, 2000-present.
  • Member, Panel of Assessors, National Yong Scientists Award / National Technologies Award, 1996-2003.
  • Member, Technical Committee, National Botanical Gardens, late 1990s.
  • Member, Editorial Board, The Raffles Bulletin of Zoology, since 1990s.
  • Member, Advisory Board and Scientific Research Committee, Department of Wildlife and National Parks, MOSTE, 1990s.
  • Chairman, Technical Committee for Biological Control of Vertebrates, National Council of Biological Control, 1990s.
  • Member, BioNet International, 1990s.
  • Member, Commonwealth Science Council Advisory Group on Biodiversity and Genetic Resource, late 1990s.
  • Member, Assessment Panel for R&D Projects, Malaysian Rubber Board, late 1990s.
  • Invited as speaker and session chairman in various conferences.
  • External Examiner and Assessor for promotion exercises in various universities

  • Named after the following species of living organisms:
    • Topomyia (Topomyia) yongi, 1990.
    • Trypanosoma yongi, 1992.
    • Johora hoiseni, 1992.
    • Aesalus yongi, 1993 (now Echinoaesalus yongi).
    • Pardalaspinus yongi, 1995.
    • Duliticola hoiseni, 1996.
    • Simulium yongi, 1997.
    • Cladomyrma yongi, 1999.
    • Manota yongi, 2006.
    • Simulium (Gomphostilbia) hoiseni, 2008.
    • Malayozodarion hoiseni, 2008.
    • Kalophrynus yongi, 2009.